Our Vision

Our Vision is to become the region's leading children's museum, cherished by the community for our commitment to fostering curiosity and a love for learning. We aspire to create a welcoming space where families and children can explore, discover, and grow together, making lasting memories and inspiring a lifelong passion for STEAM education.

Our Mission

Discovery Station at Hagerstown, Inc. is a hands-on museum that provides life-long learning experiences to thousands of children and families each year. We create an environment that stimulates curiosity for discovery, exploration, and further investigation through exhibits and programs that focus on Science, Technology, Engineering, Art, and Math (STEAM) principles.

Our Organization

Discovery Station at Hagerstown, Inc. is governed by a volunteer board whose members serve without compensation. Members serve three-year terms. Currently, Discovery Station has only two paid full-time staff members. Museum programs and activities are conducted by the executive director and assisted by an enthusiastic and dedicated group of volunteers from throughout the region.

Our Officers & Board of Directors

Paid Staff

Jordan Wygant

Executive Director

Sara Hartfiel-Carr

Director of Operations


Steven Stitely


Kimberly Halsey

Vice President

Laurie Chrzanowski


Sarah Nadeau



Scott Bowen


Joe Chlebowski


Gershom James


Laura Lowry


Lauren Brenneman Lopez


Advisory Committee

Steve Hummel

Advisory Committee

Dana Jenkins

Advisory Committee

Pat Kelley

Advisory Committee

Phil Kelly

Advisory Committee

Jim Nipps

Advisory Committee

Kelly Smith

Advisory Committee

Tom Riford

Advisory Committee

Brittany Wedd

Advisory Committee

Annual Reports

Nonprofit Status

Discovery Station at Hagerstown, Inc. is a private, nonprofit organization, incorporated in the State of Maryland on July 5, 1996. Discovery Station is tax-exempt under Section 501(c)(3) of the U.S. Internal Revenue Code, as of March 11, 1997. Discovery Station is a charitable organization, registered with the Maryland Office of the Secretary of State, Charitable Organization Division (telephone: 410.974.5534).

Skip to content